Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school.

Giving school studies as homework by teachers is one of the most debatable question in the society of school parents and many other public forums. Some people favour this argument citing it could enhance their children learning ability, while others are opposing it as everyday homework will reduce children’s free time which they should use for extracurricular and leisure activities. However, I am of the opinion that teachers should give some reasonable amount of homework, but then again, it should not take a lot of after school time as it restricts a child’s freedom. Below essay illustrates this in detail and support my position.

Firstly, we must understand the purpose of homework and the reasons for regular homework by teachers. This could be justified because teachers are not able to cover full syllabus during school hours or a child is weaker than others in studies and need additional practice. Under such circumstances teachers are forced to instruct regular and give extra homework to bring them back to an expected levels. Therefore, it is obvious that some home learning activities would support children, thus objecting in total cannot be accepted.

On the other hand, subjecting extensive amounts of homework by teachers would have several negative consequences in child’s development. For example, excessive quantum of homework will reduce children’s after school time, which they could effectively use for other extracurricular and leisure activities. Further, disproportionate homework would exhaust the child and reduce their interest in school studies or over pressured child might have some serious illness issues in their later stage of life. Thus, care should be taken by teachers as well as parents, whilst they are drilling additional home studies to the children.

In conclusion, homework is necessary part of school education as it provides substantial support to child’s school activities. However, demanding excessive volume of homework from child would have severe negative concerns in a child development. Therefore, I would like to stress that all concerns must ensure that they should not overloaded with unjustifiable volume of study works at home, allowing them to have sufficient time to enjoy their young age with more freedom.