Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational,otherwise they are a complete waste of time.Do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Extra curricular activities are helpful in child's cognitive development. But, certain people are of the view that such activities are of no use and are a complete wastage of time. I partially agree with the statement. Because, for couple of reasons engaging children in productive activities like swimming or cycling can be helpful in their physical development. This essay shall discuss the reasons why such activities are good and also how their overuse can be harmful.

Productive activities in free time other than studies can help child in developing his mental well being. I will support this idea with two examples; swimming and cycling. Firstly, if a child is taking swimming classes in free time, this particular activity is benefiting him in multiple ways like, learning an important aspect of his life that is, how to build stamina; which in future can help in physical education class in school. Second example is of cycling, which has always been popular among children as well as adults. It helps in toning their muscles, building up of stamina and most importantly learning a mode of transportation. Such activities in free time helps child being more physically strong and resilient. If these activities are conducted under expert supervision, then it may in future pave path for their career as well.

On the other hand, sometimes educational leisure activities can also be beneficial. How? lets discuss it further. When curriculums are being indirectly involved, they tend to show interest in that topic. For instance, my girl who is 4 years old and is not fond of reading, but when she is asked to read in a fun way that is through phonic songs on YouTube, she instantly takes interest and starts learning and hence her reading skills are gets better with little extra effort. Moreover, if they are motivated to learn books related to wild life or marine life, it as a result enhances and sharpens their knowledge regarding different fauna. But the question is, only such activities are enough for child's complete development?

To conclude, extra-curricular activities play a vital role in child's development therefore, it should be a well balanced mix of both physical exertion and education based. Because, if the balance is maintained well, the child certainly will excel more.