Some people believe that governments should pay full course fees for students who want to study in universities. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and examples.

It is thought by some people that governments ought to cover all students’ studying fees in educational facilities. To some extent I agree with this meaning, however there are some points I want to clarify.

To begin with, the ability to obtain education for free will significantly benefit society. Firstly, it will decrease level of poverty. Many people barely can pay for education of their children, as a result they compelled to work on two jobs, spare money for clothes and food. Free education for everyone will benefit general economic status of population. Secondly, if government pay for studying, it attracts a lot of pupils to continue the studying and replenish the number of educated specialists in the country.

However, there are some possible disadvantages in this situation. As the number of students will rise, the government will spend a significant part of budget for all students. Moreover, the government may cut the budget from other indispensable branches, such as medicine. To give a clear example, the Government of Ukraine increased a number of budget places, but stopped to sponsor 25% of medical facilities. As a result, free education displaced the part of our healthcare.

In my opinion the best decision is to allow youth to study for free, but the number of students studying without paying should be limited. This could be reached by a simple ranking system. Students need to get an entry score in order to enroll the university. Such system will incline children in school to be more concentrated and study diligently and at same time spare our money for other important needs such as healthcare.

In conclusion, the education should be free for diligent students only and this will benefit society and dispose us from other important issues.