Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

International athletic events have had both positive as well as negative impacts on the countries hosting those events. They allow the hosting nations to showcase their financial capabilities, and also their unique cultural aspects. However, it is now a long-debated issue among the people whether their positives outweigh the negatives. In my opinion, intercontinental sporting events can have a double-edged impact. If executed efficiently, these events can generate great economic as well as regional benefits, otherwise, the loss would be huge.

It is undeniable fact that international sporting events such as Olympics, Football world cup etc. bring a plethora of benefits to the hosting nation. To begin with, economic uplift is the most obvious outcome of a well-planned sporting event. This, however, is possible, only if the event in itself is implemented successfully. Otherwise, it may take a nation towards yet another economic crisis. Greece, for instance, had injected a significant proportion of their public investment fund into building infrastructure to host Olympics. This had led to depletion of government’s funds which ultimately resulted in severe inflation and economic crisis.

What is more, hosting an event at an international stage is also an opportunity to showcase the hospitality and positive cultural aspects to the whole world. Artists such as singers and actors get a chance to perform during the event, this will lead to their global recognition. Finally, hosting an event at home encourages and gives a better opportunity to the younger fellow sportsmen to participate and compete in the event with the support of their home crowd. This will definitely lead to better performance by the hosting players. Russia, for example, has recently outplayed several better-ranked teams in the world cup 2019 and for the very first time in the history, has reached the Quarterfinal. This, I believe, was only possible with the support from the local crowd.

From the above discussion, it can be concluded that, although hosting international sports activities are beneficial both economically as well as culturally. However, the planning and the implementation must be as prudent as possible in order to avoid any financial losses and country’s defamation.