Some people believe that modern designs for schools and offices with more open spaces are necessary. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such spaces? Give your opinion.

Design industry has evolved so much during the recent development, with their continuous improvement and new ideas to bring changes in daily life, Open spaces culture has taken momentum. Everybody believes in transparent culture. People think due to their benefits it is more important to use Open Space designs in school and work environment. Open Space design have pros and cons; in terms of adapting it, and their benefits versus their impacts.

Open Space use at work has increased the collaboration at work, faster resolution to problems and bonding between the employees. For example, Facebook office uses the Open Space design and lot of individuals like it due to its transparency, better time to resolve the issues and no cabin system, even CEO of company sits at the round table desk like other employees. Statistically it has been proven, individuals feel that it encourages healthy relation with another employee and they are more vocal about their opinions as compared to close room offices. Similarly, Open Space designs at school are helping teachers to bond and evaluate kids quickly as supposedly classroom walls. Due to this, teachers are able to group the kids into batches and can focus on individual batches on their weakness and strength.

On the other hand, Open space design, are expensive to adapt. Once adapted - companies and schools have to consistently catch up with the trend to make sure its upto the market standards. Secondly, some introvert employees do not like Open space design as they think it is easily being micro managed, their break times, lunch hours can be easily tracked due to openness. It reduces the competition as one employee can easily listen all the conversations of other employee. Open space design also is consider deviating as some people - like research work prefer to work in closed sitting and concentrate on their work.

To recapitulate, benefits of Open Space outweigh the disadvantages hence I prefer Open space sitting. In certain cases, where employees needs closed space or rooms, they always have choice of using conference room for the time of their research. Similarly, students with special needs who need closed sitting can opt for the closed room classes in order to limit the diversion from the regular kids.