Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas others think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

For the last few decades, many nations have witnessed the overwhelming inflow of tourists. Like any advancement, this has also brought some negative effects to culture along with its economic benefits. Some think that banning strangers in certain parts would be a desirable solution, and others find it as a worthless method to retain traditions. Although, I am in favour of the later group, however, this essay will discuss both the viewpoints.

To begin with, the economic growth of any developing nations depends on the tourism industry to great extent. So, banning visitors would result in an economic down-flow. Moreover, many people employment demands on the outlets like restaurants, hotels and shops opened to cater the growing demand of tourist, thus, prohibiting visitors in some areas could affect their earnings, which is a necessity for the majority of people.

considering the viewpoint of former group people, local people tend to copy the cultural values of the outsiders for making them comfortable, and in-turn develop these as habbits. Resulting in the vanishing of the local traditions, however, blaming the tourist for this, would not be completely justified. Youth is following the media a lot, so they are one who are influencing this young generations. Today, children like to follow the new trend as highlighted in televisions and internet. In addition to this, they can learn different values from the social groups which are no longer limited to physical boundaries.

After analysing above, it can be concluded that tourism is solely not responsible for the change in local customs, therefore, banning it would certainly not helpful, rather it could affect the growth of any area, which depends on the foreign visitors for the financial support.