Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare people to be useful members for society Others say that the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It has become a contentious topic whether education should make individuals more useful to the community or it should help them to gain their personal goals. This essay agrees that the whole purpose of the education should be focused on making a useful future generation to the community.

One of the main reasons why education should focus on moulding individuals to be favourable to the whole society is because if people become helpful to the society, it will impact positively on the whole community, rather than on just certain individuals. Moreover, if the society as a whole developed, every member of that society will be able to reap the positive outcome of it hence personal goals are anyway achieved without much effort.

Those who oppose to the above argument say that when the learning process targets fulfilling individual goals, everyone will be motivated to get the education because they could get to their coveted title without much effort. Moreover, they claim that once those motivated individuals achieve their expectations, they might be able to help others in the community in a greater depth. However, it must be mentioned that if education only focus on individual goals, those who are educated under such system may not have the moral obligation to return back their gratitude to the community.

In conclusion, both side of the arguments have their merits. However, on balance, I believe people should be taught and moulded to become useful members of the society rather than focusing on individual achievements, owing to the fact that a developed society as a whole will anyway help each and every individual to achieve their personal ambitions and to thrive.