Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A country’s penal system is one of the most complicated, yet cardinal part of its democratic system. People have different beliefs when it comes to the main purpose of the penal system; some favour the idea of solely punishing criminals while others focus on the well-being of the criminals once they are released. This essay will argue that the actual goal of prisoners is an amalgamation of punishing offenders for heinous crimes along with rehabilitating those who deserve a second chance.

Some people would argue that the sole purpose of the law is to deter crime; owing to which, punishing criminals as its top-most priority. The reason is simple to understand, these individuals think that maintaining a safe society is only possible by putting wrongdoers behind the bars which set an example for others who are considering committing crimes for financial gains or to take revenge from others. For instance, if a robber is sentenced to prison, it would not only help to deter his activities but also sends out a clear message to other burglars to stop such offences. Thus, this group of people believes in punishment as the sole purpose of the law.

On the other hand, others support the view of assisting criminals to become a part of society. They argue about giving training to the criminals in order to make them job-ready and becoming law-abiding citizens, in turn. This ideology stems from the opinion that after completing sentences wrongdoers will get released, therefore, making them job-ready along with imparting some moral values can prevent them from committing crimes again. Hence, jails and the penal system should consider rehabilitating as its prime responsibility. However, I disagree with both the views as it is inefficient to rely on a single system either it is punishing them or rehabilitation programs. In my view, prions and law comprise of both the activities as their prime duty. Since an efficient way to lower the crime rate is to punish criminals and turning them to better individuals so that they do not commit crimes again. Eventually, making a safe society.

To conclude, undoubtedly, crime should be punished, but rehabilitation is another important aspect that cannot be overlooked. Punishment aided with some rehabilitation programs is the main aim of the penal system as it is the most effective way to keep in check the increasing crime rates.