Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is quite common in any school that children will be given homework. People’s opinions differs as to whether or not teachers should set home work for their pupils. Some say that it is not necessary while I believe that setting homework is necessary as part of education. This essay will argue both sides in detail and give an opinion.

There are several reasons why some would argue that homework is not important. Firstly, students will be tired by the end of school session and giving homework would burden them even more. Secondly, homework has no significant role in improving academic outcomes. Thirdly, it is very important to have some personal space so that children could take up some non-academic activity of their interest which brings out the creativity in them. Finally, I believe that playtime is just as beneficial as study time in perspective of brain development.

However, in spite of the above arguments, I still believe that setting of homework would be beneficial and plays an important role in the schooling of children as it will improve their ability to work individually unlike at school where classmates are always there to help. In addition to that, it will promote creative thinking especially while writing an essay or solving a mathematics problem. Moreover, the more practice they do at home will significantly increases their chance of achieving higher academic grades. Therefore, it is always recommended that children should be given homework.

To summarize, setting homework has certain drawbacks; however, I believe that teachers should give homework to their students for their betterment.