Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that education plays a vital role in shaping a child's future. It has become a necessity to get at least a primary education for better survival. It is quite evident that with the increase in competency, the level of education has also increased and so is the stress on both teachers and children; many parents believe teachers should restrict giving homework, whereas, others not. Both views are discussed in the below paragraphs.

Schooling hours are barely five to six hours in India; moreover, there are seven to nine subjects in each grade, apart from extra-curricular activities. It is challenging for teachers to complete the curriculum in a given time, that is before the exam schedule. After teaching the basics and highlighting the essential things, teachers prefer giving homework with the deadline to complete. Without questions, it is beneficial for students to self-analyse themselves about what they have learned so far. Additionally, if there are any shortcomings while completing the homework, teachers help them to solve their doubts. Nevertheless, if homework is not given, children might end up wasting their time in leisure activities.

However, with such a vast curriculum; if every subject teacher gives homework, it is stressful for students to complete in a given time. Furthermore, the students who are keen in other activities; like playing sports, practising art, or taking vocational courses, struggle to manage time efficiently. Also, if the kids are persuaded to get only schooling education, they might not be able to skill-up themselves and compete with the corporate environment in future.

In my opinion, there must be a limitation to the amount of homework given to the students; like three to four hours per day is good enough to keep them on-mark for better schooling. Apart from that, if the homework is creative or involves some research outside the textbooks, it can shape the child's future.