News stories on TV and in the newspaper are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion?

News has become prominent these days, by displaying the facts happening around. With the advancement in technology, it is possible to provide live coverage from any part of the world; making it possible to display news even from Antarctica to India without any delays. Furthermore, the news is often highlighted with relevant pictures, which some people find it catchy and effective in delivering the right message, which is discussed in details in the below paragraphs.

Nowadays, the world is badly affected by the pandemic situation and fighting against the deadly virus. Most often every news channel shows the image of the virus along with the medical staff or a bottle of medicine. By these visuals, it is evident that the telecast is about the coronavirus. The pictures send a direct message to the viewer and if that interest him/her then he/she can continue watching or else change the channel.

Even the newspaper editor, put the relatable picture alongside as per the news printed. Furthermore, the entire newspaper is divided into various columns: local news, national news, science, entertainment, sports, etcetera. According to the reader's interest, one can easily find out the desired column by simply looking at the pictures on the page. For example, the sports column will be showcasing the sports images like a player celebrating after scoring a goal or a batsman hitting a ball and many more.

Research in the media industry exclaims that pictures are effective in delivering messages to the crowd in a small space. Only written content in the newspaper or a journalist speaking on television does not attract the viewership making it mundane. Whereas a company like Amul, its marketing strategies works totally on pictures displaying the current affairs promoting a brand along with the social message.

To sum up, we cannot deny the fact that the news with proper images which does not hurt anyone's sentiments are effective in covering the appropriate message to its audience whether it can be written content or visual news.