Some people believe school children should be given multiple short vacations, while others believe they should get one long vacation. Give the advantages of both and express your own point of view.

The duration and frequency of school holidays have always been a matter of debate. Section of society favour several short holidays, and there are others who consider one extended holiday as better mean. However, I believe the kind of holidays should depend on the complexity of the course and age of the child, as these two factors are crucial for the pupil’s overall growth.

Firstly, there are great benefits of short breaks, as it is the best mean to escape from the pressure of studies. Some children find difficult to cope with regular stress. These short breaks nourish the motivation towards studies and re-energise to focus more on education. Researches also suggest that it is essential to take the mind of some time, to memorise the things in a better way. Moreover, pupils find hard to learn everything with the daily busy schedule, therefore, breaks after a small interval enable children to revise the syllabus side by side instead of doing all in bulk. Hence, multiple holidays means a way to refresh oneself and develop concentration.

On the other hand, long holidays are best to plan foreign trips, as it involves a lot of time to organise as well as settling down after returning. Most of the families in India prefer to travel unexplored destination during summer breaks. Beside this, it allows children to participate in other vocational courses which are not possible in regular breaks. These classes, help them to gain skills, which are indispensable for all-round development. Therefore, one long vacation means enough time to chase other activities.

After analysing both the types of holidays, it can be concluded that whether short or long, holidays play an important role in a child’s life. However, the frequency and tenure should be based on the level of education and developmental stage. Keeping it the same for everyone is just ignoring their psychological needs.