Some people believe that unpaid community service be made a compulsory part of high school programmes (like working of a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children) upto what extent do you agree or disagree?

The curriculum of secondary education is always debatable. Some individuals think that social services should be a mandatory part of it and I fully support this statement.

To begin with, introducing free community services as a subject, teaches children to help the citizens and improve their overall well being. The discussed services are taught by experts having vast experience in this field. During the course, children are often made to visit orphanages or old age houses to analyse the environment and submit a report comprising list of activities that could be performed for betterment of those people. A recent study by University of Cambridge has found that children having social service as an academic subject have 70 percent more chance of being more loyal, well mannered as compared to others.

Secondly, it improves equality in the society. In other words, when a children donates some of his pocket money or other essential items to a poverty-stricken person, they are helping them to have access to their basic needs, which otherwise would have been difficult for them to afford. Although, there are lot of government policies in place to bring about equality, however they are not much successful because of ever increasing population and a widespread corruption further inhibits it. Introducing the social service in the education would greatly amplify the process as more and more individuals would be involved paving the way of their peers, parents and a source of inspiration for that section who are not participating in it.

In conclusion, scoring good grades could make you bright student and may improve your overall career prospects. However, a society or a nation would surely be underdeveloped if there are no social services and therefore making it a compulsory part of education system ought to be an optimal solution.