Some people believe that violent films are bad for you and encourage people to be violent, others argue that violence and films are unreleased because violence existed before films.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We all love to watch movies, these are known as great time-pass and stress reliever now a days. However, it is commonly believed by many that violent films are the source of encouragement for people who act violently while some other people believe that there is no relation between violence and films. I agree with the later group and in this essay I will discuss why I completely agree with this thought.

It is undeniable that violence existed before films. There could be many other reasons for our wild behavior but not movies. Movies are the great form of entertainment, we go to watch movies to distress ourselves or to rejuvenate our mood hence it will be really unfair to blame films for our violent nature. There is an immense change in cinematography from last few decades. These days movies are directed and produced not for the purpose of earning revenue but their content is based on social awareness and biography of celebrities. Thus movies encourage us to become like our best-loved actors and boost us to become a productive member of the society.

On the other side, I agree that there are some violent movies which I think is necessary to differentiate between positives and negatives. In every movie, there is a villain and hero, so it is up-to us whom we imitate. None of the movie forces us to do violent acts or behave negatively in the society. Every movie has a positive message to learn. In short,every movie has both the sides, positive and negative and it is completely our choice to love the bad-boy or the good-boy of the story. Also there are many other significant reasons for increased rate of violence in our society such as bad-company, poverty, unemployment and many other social curses. In a survey conducted by Harvard University on ex-criminals during the year 2010, the result show that 40% of the total population did not watched movie ever in their life due to poverty or any other reason, this shows that if man wants to be violent, he do not need encouragement, he would do violent acts just out of any thing.

To conclude, Although violent films leave some remark on children but movies are the great source of entertainment and information these days. In short we could not say that movies encourage people to be violent. Moreover, movies encourage us to achieve our goals, be a responsible citizen of the country and also make us aware of common social curses.