Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Travelling has become easier these days than it was in the past. Thanks to some outstanding technological improvements, like airplanes or bullet-trains it is now possible to reach far locations and continents in a matter of hours. Countries that once seemed to be inaccessible lay close at hand. It is no surprise therefore that some people express concerns when it comes to opening countries to masses of tourist. Although tourism represents a huge source of income for many countries, many believe that visitors should conform to the local traditions. In this essay I will examine this issue and explaining why I think tourists should respect local traditions but cannot forced to follow them.

For many nations in the world, tourism is one of the few, if not the only source of revenue. Chiefly located in far-flung parts of the planet, those countries lack of industries and a stable economy but can offer breathtaking pieces of nature: white strands, deep blue oceans, lush forests and sunny days. Traditions play still today a major role and local people are usually very proud of it, so that tourists are often invited to take part in indigenous ceremonies. I think, this approach is right. After all, visitors have the possibility to make acquaintance with remote cultures that otherwise would have remained unknown. Furthermore, visitors during a trip should not pass up the opportunity to taste foreing foods, to admire weird architecture or to try to speak a new language.

On the other side, many believe that visitors should not be follow local customs. I would lean to this position because visitors do not come to a foreing land to be active part of it, to serve it or to become citizen of it. In many cases tourists want to visit a foreing land just because they thirst for the unknown. Visitors bring money and help to sustain the local economy, which consequently has a positive effect on the whole community. Tourists have the duty to respect the local population, its traditions, customs and religion, however weird they could appear to foreing eyes. I do not support the idea that visitors should align with local customs. In some countries is commonplace for example to eat insects or snakes. In others cruel religious rituals or festivals where animals are exploited, continue to survive. In these cases, visitors have the right to say no and to refuse to do something they believe it can be dangerous or outragerous.

Summing up, it is possible to me to merge the two different points of view. On the one hand, tourist must respect local traditions and the environment. On the other one, though, they must also be free to maintain their identity and to refuse to do something they believe it is wrong or unsafe for them.