Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with the police or the military. Others think that women are less suitable for this kind of job. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people subscribe to the belief that no woman should be deprived of equal rights and job opportunities, while others still believe in stereotypical ideology of the patriarchy society. Female group should be treated equally when registering for police or army jobs is a subject which is both supported and refuted by many. Both sides of this essay will be analyzed before a viable conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, it is commonly known that women and men do not share equal amount of strength and stamina by nature. For instance, there are various harsh and aggressive tasks are carried by the officials during selection process of army, speaking of which is not a piece of cake for the all the women. And not just selection program, but post training of selected candidates is also held in extremely rough environment. Unfortunately, young girls cannot perform in such conditions since they are of soft and gentle nature. Thus, the idea of not giving the preference to women in the army related jobs could be slightly plausible.

However, on the the other side of the argument, it must be remembered that there are several operations in the armed forces which women can do better than men; such as nursing, ammunition management etc. For example, needless to say women can deal with medical aide or wounded soldiers far better than male counterparts because of their caring nature. Undoubtedly, whether military, politics or management, female have equal potential to perform their duty in many other areas. Therefore, it is clear why the idea of giving an equal importance to female applicants in the police and army related jobs has garnered support.

In summary, both sides of the argument regarding non-discriminative approach in the recruitment of the police and army have strong support. However, it is clear that women are capable of performing numerous duties as good as men, hence the idea of considering them less suitable for the police and army jobs cannot be fully supported. As such, it is predicted that gender biased tendency will no longer be exist in the near future and equal respect and consideration will be given to both men and women.