Some people prefer to relax by doing physical activities, while others choose mental activities (crosswords, chess etc.). Discuss the both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether one can stay calm by physical activities or by mental activities. I believe that both of these exercises have distinct advantages and the choice depends on personal interest.

Spending one's leisure time in sports or other forms of physical activities such as yoga may be relaxing, especially for people who are sporty and love to be outdoor. This is due to the fact that physical workout stimulates the growth of happy hormones called endorphins in the human body and post-workout one feels extremely positive and calm. People with an interest in the above mentioned recreational activities may also find pleasure in meeting like-minded people probably at playgrounds or at gyms and widening their social circle. Finally, asking these individuals to find pleasure in other brain training games would pressurise their mind than putting at rest. Therefore, it is fine for someone who likes physical activities to relax in his own way.

In contrast, mental activities such as playing puzzles, chess, and reading books may be the better option for intellectual minds who feel better by training their brain. The evidence for this can be seen in the fact that solving a puzzle or knowledge gaining paves the way to more satisfaction and contentment to these people at the end of the day. As a result of this, their sleep patterns are improved and they feel rested. It is also true that challenging their brains with such mental exercises also promotes cognitive health, and logical and reasoning ability. As for a wider social network, though studious people may have fewer friends than those who spend time in physical activities involving a team, the restful mind is more important for an intellectual one.

In conclusion, all that matter at the end of the day is the peaceful mind and soul, and different personalities find it in different activities according to their interest. Sporty people find peace in the physical activities. On the other hand, studious people tranquillize themselves with mental activities.