Some people prefer working for a business. Others would rather own a business. Discuss both.

A considerable number of people assert that it is better to be employed with a company as it provides a certain degree of job security. As far as I am concerned, the merits and drawbacks of both views must be pondered upon prior to advocating one.

On the one hand, there may be certain advantages associated with working for a business. For one thing, many companies offer their staff a certain minimum income, and this gives a considerable degree of comfort to many people to afford their rent and bills. However, there are, indeed, disadvantages galore inherent in working for a business. To begin with, employment with a company is considered a venom to ambition and creativity. Moreover, many employees are stuck with the same company for a significant period of time to get their wages. They may, for instance, have taken out a mortgage to pay or maybe worried about paying their car finance.

On the other hand, just as working for a business, having a business has its own drawbacks. The critics believe that it makes them vulnerable in a highly capricious economy. Yet, this seemingly serious problem can be best overshadowed by numerous benefits self-employment can bring to a businessman. For example, by running a company, an individual can dedicate his entire time and effort to increase the company’s financial health. That way, the company grow gigantically, and this can make it untouchable by the foregoing economic and political turmoil.

All in all, I am of the adamant view that the latter holds merit. I take this view on account in a fit of the fact that despite some disadvantages raised, the merits galore inherent to self-employment far outweigh the aforementioned flaws.