Some people say that advertisement encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisement tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which one do you agree with?

Whether advertisements encourage people to buy unnecessary things or help them to improve their lives has always been a topic of intense discussion. Although in my opinion adverts play a critical role in imparting knowledge about products and making product selection easier for a buyer. In the below paragraphs I will present some examples in support of my opinion.

To begin with most of the companies nowadays from retail to manufacturing sector use adverts to showcase not only the benefits of their new products but also provide vivid options for comparison to consumers. For instance online food stores have adverts about the prepackaged lunch options therefore it gives an option for busy parents to compare and choose healthiest diet for their children thus providing guardians additional time for their leisure or work related activities.

Similarly there are some online applications like nearbuy.com which advertise all the options available to a consumer based on a product selection and further do an online cost comparison thus making it easier for a customer to select the best product available in cheapest price. For instance last week I bought a solar charger for my mobile phone at the cheapest price through an online website which were advertising multiple options thus making the buying process easier for the end-user.

Although there are many critics who suggest that adverts encourage people to buy unnecessary things which in my view is not correct. For instance if an advert is showcasing the benefits of a dishwasher and someone prefers to wash the dishes with hand then it is entirely up to that person to make a decision to buy that product.

To conclude it is evident that advantages of adverts fairly outweigh the disadvantages therefore in my opinion adverts have only benefited our lives for better.