Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we don’t need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

t is asserted by some that advertisements are influencing the individuals to purchase unnecessary things; however, their counterparts opined that these are helpful to create an awareness about new products. In my opinion, while I believe that the adverts are important to provide updates of most advanced commodities, this essay will support the former viewpoint as they convince the customers to buy unwanted things.

To begin with, commercials usually encourage people towards reckless shopping. Thesedays, it is quite common that people easily getting into the traps of flaunted adverts of various brands, and start spending their money on things, that are not even of their use. Eventually, it has created artificial wants, which are just useless investments. Take Indian commercials, for instance, they have been selecting different celebrities as brand ambassadors of their products and try to make an attractive advert, which would ultimately pester the followers to buy the given commodities, without thinking about their pros and cons. Therefore, these adverts persuade people to purchase unwanted things.

Moreover, advertisements are directly or indirectly luring the viewers to sell the items. In other words, in the one or two-minute clip of an advert, despite showing drawbacks, only advanced features of a given product have shown, which attracts the people to buy the item immediately. Because these commercials are made to showcase only advantages of an item, their watchers trust blindly on them. For instance, the advertisements of different beauty products have been gaining ground these days. If someone sees an advert related to a challenge of lighter skin with a certain cream of a brand, he or she would curious to buy and to apply that product. Hence, in this way, these kinds of advertisements attracting customers towards them.

In conclusion, although these commercials keep us aware of newly launched products, they are creating useless wants by encouraging us and we end up buying needless articles for our life.