Song People say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really don't need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with it?

In this age of consumerism, we are constantly bombarded with advertisements almost everywhere. Many feel that advertising manipulates us to purchase unnecessary things. Others, however, are of the opinion that they inform us of new products available in the market, which might be beneficial. In the following paragraphs, I will provide justification for my viewpoint.

Being exposed to too many ads throughout the day leads to a range of issues. First of all, most of the ads use specific methods to be persuasive. More specifically, they tend to target meticulously avid buyers by using catchy tunes and eye-catching images and clips. They can do it on TV in peaking view time or through celebrity endorsements. In the second place, advertisements can be deemed as intrusive and annoying phenomenons. For example, whenever people are in the middle of a TV show or surfing on the internet, these never-ending commercial breaks and pop-ups act as an invasion of our privacy. Finally, the majority of the advertised products do not live up to their hype. As a matter of fact, many of us have had the experience of being not completely satisfied with a product that has been advertised in mass media.

Granted, life would be much easier if we got updated of new things regarding that they are unveiled by their companies. Nevertheless, it can easily happen through word-of-mouth marketing (MOM Marketing), which is the most valid way of advertising.

In conclusion, although it can let us know of new products and services available in the market, I am strongly against the concept of putting apps in a variety of places to term more profits.