Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

A popular belief is that unnecessary commodities are launched and endorsed due to advertising to create a new market. However, a large populace views advertisements as a source of information and direction towards new items and their benefits. I strongly agree with the later. In this essay, I would like to discuss the advantages of commercial display of brand endorsements.

Firstly, companies find advertising a necessary evil to sustain and enter the market. Ad commercials are generally aimed at introducing a product to its targeted audiences. For instance, a T.V advertisement for ‘Cerelac’- baby food, is targeted towards the mothers’ or the parents of a toddler. Moreover, to make it more attractive, brand ambassadors who could be a famous personality or an influential figure could be engaged to promote the brand image and market value.

Secondly, a plethora of commodities make it incredibly confusing for the masses to buy a single product, therefore television and other communicative channels are flooded with various creative advertisements. A good example of this is, men, watching a sanitary pad-commercial on their television screens, and consider it as an unwanted marketing gimmick.

Lastly, I opine that brands opt for advertisements to express themselves in a creative way that can connect with the emotional quotient of their customers. Popular chocolate companies heavily advertise their products during festive seasons, by using a creative tagline or visual that will appeal to the masses at large.

In conclusion, Advertisements are not only entertaining and attention-grabbing but also impart knowledge pertinent to the product and its uses to their current and potential customers.