Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some would argue that ads urge us to purchase unnecessary products, while others think introducing new items is a good thing. In my opinion, advertising is a positive way to promote outcoming goods.

Nowadays people live in the era of consumption, advertisements are everywhere and play an important role in our society, without them some people could be lost and confused what product is suitable to buy, therefore, they can make our lives more convenient and help in deciding. In my experience, when i feel unsure purchasing new things, ads have helped me a lot about the content and practical usage. For example, i bought two in one vacuum cleaner and mop combined, that i saw from television, it has made my busy life much easier as it is handy and easy to use.

One of the most influencive commercials for drivers are billboards which are often located on the road to catch busy people mind while driving. These can impact people way of thinking without their notice and therefore lead attention subconsciously to find out ways to buy it. For example, people are hungry after work and see the McDonald’s burger sign, which is discounted and just after 5 minutes on the left side of the road. While driving you might not notice how your brain is working and processing the information that you saw and without realising you are already in McDonald’s buying a burger.

In conclusion, commercials help to make our decisions easier and improve our lives by giving information about new products.