Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Public health has been always one of the sophisticated issues in each society and over last several years, there have been lots of efforts done by establishments to improve public health in some countries. In the same context, some people advice former to construct more number of sports facilities so that people can exercise there under guidance, however others disgrace this and believe that this will be waste of resources and other measures should be taken. Both the views are scrutinised holistically, before reforming any opinion.

Admittedly, availability of sports centres can make a situation that anyone can do exercise without considering others factors such as travelling, guidance etcetera. In the developing countries, health problem is getting worsen day by day because of un-availability of the options as they have to travel to particular area for exercise. On the many instances, membership prices of sports centres are so high that middle class person are unable to afford them for the longer period. To substantiate it, According to various surveys, it has been found that 70% of gym members do not continue because of high subscription fees. In such conditions, constructing sports facilities will ease the situation.

However, sports centres are not a sole solution as after sometime, people lack the motivation and they start taking breaks and eventually, end by giving up on the former. People lack encouragement and this can be done by the public awareness. For instance, Ireland started marathon to aware about obesity related problems and after the end of marathon week, memberships in the sports facilities increased by 45% and authorities are holding such events at regular intervals so that it's citizens continue with the subscriptions.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, it is clear that other steps such as races, gaming events are required to keep the spirit of people to continue doing their exercises and hence, governments should spend more revenue on the latter instead of constructing game centres.