Some people say that historical buildings should be knocked down, while others believe that they should be preserved and restored instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has been a debatable issue from the last few decades that the historical structures should be demolished or conserved. A section of people believes that these are indispensable due to their ancient value, whilst others consider them useless. In my opinion, they should be restored because they are a great source of revenue and knowledge, However, I will discuss both sides of the argument in detail in subsequent paragraphs.

Old buildings are beneficial for society as a whole in many ways. At the first pace, they help the younger generation to understand, appreciate their culture, and tradition in a better way. Apart from that, they can not only use for government offices, tourist attractions, and hotels but also a good source of income generation. To illustrate, some historical building in Udaipur, Rajasthan is used as a hotel and tourist attraction. As a result, they are generating adequate revenue for the government. In Punjab, places of kings are being used as a municipal office.

On the other side of the argument, some people want to destroy traditional buildings completely because of multifarious reasons. Firstly, they believe that ancient structures are an obstacle in the progress of the country as they do not fit into the plan of modern cities. Having said that, as per data published by UNESCO, tourism is one of the booming industries and historical structures are one of the most visited places in the world. Apart from that, due to the increase in population and evolvement in technology, there is a great need for new housing. As a result, the masses demolished the traditional structure and construct new housing which is eco-friendly.

Having considered each side of the arguments, there is no doubt that modern buildings with the latest design are the need of the hour, but the old structure must be protected as they represent our heritage and earn income for the government.