Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss

In this modern era, crimes increased by many folds. Nowadays, we have seen it everywhere like on television, newspaper or in the media. Some people believe that prison is the best punishment for criminals. However, others believe that there is a myriad of ways by which we can punish criminals. I opine that we should punish criminals but according to their seriousness of crime which I will explain with examples in upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, life in prison is far too comfortable for prisoners because they can enjoy in prison. For example, In India, Tihar Jail is quite popular because all luxury articles like television, mobile phone, and other facility are available inside the prison. This is the reason I do not agree that every criminal should be sent to prison.

Another reason is that a large number of prisoners are not actually a danger to society. Shoplifters and small thieves are the biggest examples of this. However, they send to the same prison where big criminals live. I believe that prisons should be made according to crime and we should separate the prisoners according to their seriousness of crime.

On the other hand, there is an argument that prison can help prisoners in rehabilitating. As a result, they will never re-offend when they are released and live a better life.

By way of a conclusion, it is a common belief that prison is the best way to punish criminals. I believe that it is not good to send every offender directly into prison. We should take decisions according to the seriousness of crime because there are many other ways to punish criminals instead of prison.