Some people say it is a good idea for all employees to wear a uniform at work.

A certain school of thought are of the opinion that workers should make use of uniform in their workplace. I strongly disagree with this view and the reasons for this will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, the use of specific attires rob people of some certain religion and culture their acceptable dress codes. In other words, adherents of some religion and cultures are expected to dress in certain ways which may not be compliant with certain uniforms. For example, an Hindu woman typically wear long robes which is quite different to most uniform types of overalls and trousers. Another example are the Muslims who prefer to wear certain outfit on Friday for their weekly rituals.

Secondly, uniforms are not suitable for some industries . Certain jobs like banking, consulting and farming require different outfits for different task. Limiting the employees to a certain attire is not advisable. For instance, a farmer worker requires different outfit for meetings, planting, animal husbandry and irrigation. In this cases it inappropriate to restrict workers to a particular attire.

Finally, the use of uniform adds to the financial burdens of the company. Uniforms are most times bespoke and not off the shelf and this increases their costs. These costs are typically borne by the company. An example is the high cost of hiring garment factories in Nigeria for tailor-made dresses. These costs could be avoidable by the companies if they do away with uniforms.

In conclusion, the demerits of making use of uniforms which include non compliance with certain religion, suitability in certain jobs and cost implication have been discussed in detail.