Some people say it is manufactures and supermarkets responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of products they sell and others say it is the consumers responsibility to avoid buying products with too much packaging.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Buying and selling is our daily and necessary activities. Some product covered with excess wrapper while some items comes with little or no outbox. In recent times, a group of people claim that this packaging costs should go on them, who produce or sell the product. However, some others believe it’s customers choice whether to spend more for extra covering or not. Following paragraph will put some shed on both view and reach a conclusion.

To begin with, the main demand of a seller is to make profit no matter they are retailer or wholesaler. For precious or sensitive products like refrigerator, television etc. they spend a quite large amount for it’s safety which increase the price and ultimately general public pay for that. Producers or shopkeepers have to this otherwise it will cut off their profits. For example, a recent poll by Bangladesh government has found that entrepreneurs will lose 32% of their earnings if they take packing cost on their shoulder.

In contrast with above, end customers can also think indispensability of the item they are about to buy. If it cost really high, they should look for alternative things which are also available in the market. Moreover, necessity should be prioritise for such case where the product has made more attractive with excessive wrappings. For instance, an individual can buy a dinner set, which is heavily packaged, for safety or he/she can buy it in open form from other market at lower price.

To conclude, higher profit makes people greedy and thus brings negative effects on society. Additionally, depriving ourselves from acquiring some important things because of higher price is not positive vibe. So I feel authority should take actions to control unethical business and let the people live happily with their required commodities.