Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is told to be many prescribed way for predicting people’s characteristics base on their preferences such as type of their desirable food, color and so on. One of these debatable areas is possibility of telling about personality and culture of others according to their clothes. I believe it would not be possible. This idea will be proven by looking at how this term of generalization can lead to prejudice and misleading.

For one, in some religious due to their rules people have to put on specific clothes. Take Muslims as an example. Islamic women are told to wear some kinds of scarf to conceal their hair. On the other hand, societies are witnessed many terrorism attacks which are done by women wearing scarfs, showing by media. Following the theory of judging people according their clothes may generate the concept of all women wearing scarfs are terrorists. As this example shows, appearance of people is not an appropriate mirror for their character.

Besides that, globalization makes it possible to find same merchandises at same time in different geographic places. For many youths, it is an important concern to follow latest trends. For instance, blue jeans is a piece of clothes which is commonplace in all societies and wide ranges of people regardless to gender, age, culture, education and personality wear it. Hence it cannot represent anything about people’s taught. following this example, clothes choice is not a reliable issue for categorizing people.

As shown above, it is obvious that in the area of choosing what to wear factors such as price, availability, trend, etc; are more effective than way of thinking. It is recommended not to let such stereotypes effect on our choices of people for starting conversation and getting acquaintance.