Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choices of clothes. Do you agree or Disagree?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

How we present ourself to the world will be judged by people whether we like it or not. Most people believe that the way someone dress could easily determine their cultural ethnicity and their character. I believe this is somewhat true in case of identifying one’s culture , but I can’t agree how dressing would determine someone’s character. Lets discuss in detail on how our dressing helps us learn about a person culture and How dressing wont factor-in for identifying someone’s character.

Dressing is how we present our roots to the world. The way one present himself /herself will vary from place to place and also it depends on the occasion. In a country like India you could see there is a change in the way people dress varies for every 500 Kms you travel. For example same Dhoti and Sari would be worn differently in Tamil nadu and Kerala. The dress is the same, but the way it is worn is unique. For a party everyone will wear something appropriate to attend the occasion. But when it’s festive season most people wear their traditional outfits proudly to showcase their roots or cultural ethnicity. So there is a good chance that based on someone’s dressing we could identify their culture.

On the other hand , Dressing wont reveal much about a person’s character. Someone in a quite good looking Suite might behave badly to the people who are attending to his needs. He may be rude to them. Though He is in a suite , that did not make him a gentleman. The person who is selling vegetables in a street can feed stray dogs in the locality. Though his is dressing quite normal he is a great person without the suite. The way one dresses has nothing to do with how someone behaves in the society.

To conclude, The dressing might helps us understand the cultural background of a person, But this not the same when it comes to identifying one’s character.