Some people say that Olympic games are not relevant in 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

The prime purpose of Olympic games is to promote international peace, unity, friendship and corporation within communities through the medium of sports. This legacy was started in 18th century and since then these games are organized on leap years at different locations. I strongly disagree with the notion that in coming era’s this traditional sports competition would consider as irrelevant. This essay will first discuss the importance of Olympics to boom the economy and secondly the significance of global sports in 21st century, followed by reasoned conclusion.

To start with, since the centuries Olympics games are organized at various destinations like in 2018 at Pyeongchang and in 2010 at Vancouver. The empirical research statistics revealed that these nations have generated revenue in billions of dollars from various channels of tourist spending like trade, tourism, service industries such as travel enterprises and hotels. As a result, foreign investment increased which ploughed back into the economy to improve its infrastructure and other sectors. Thus it is agreed that Olympic games are lucrative that supports economy to foster and are significant in foreseeable future as well.

Another insight that must not be neglected, international sports spread peace and friendship. Admittedly, world has already faced detrimental effects after two world wars and now the countries are fighting with each other due to nuclear power and oil reserves. Undoubtedly, despite several initiatives by UNO on global platform, these issues remained unresolved. However, Olympics, FIFA world cup and ICC tournaments are proved to be practical to support international peace and unity. Hence, it is undeniable that Olympics are not worthy in 21st century.

To conclude, Olympic games are deemed to accrue financial benefits that also flourish the economy. Moreover, these international events are very important to sustain peace in the world. It is predicted that if such sports events will continue, economies of the world will be boomed alongside with strong bonding.