Some people say that the Olympic Games no longer play a role in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

An ever-increasing popularity of the Olympics has been observed since last decade. However, it is thought by few people that these games do not play pivotal role in the current century. I disagree with this viewpoint and believe that the Olympic sports are significant events because they are considered as a economy booster for host nation and motivational factor for sportsmen.

To commence with, one of the most conspicuous facts is that the Olympics have positive effect on the economy of the country in which they are being organized. In other words, it is considered as a source of income for the host country because the arrangement of such huge event not only attracts hordes of tourists to visit that country but also multinational organizations to invest money during such ceremony. For example, as per the report published in the Economy Times, the Dubai became tourist attraction after the arrangement of Olympic Games in 2012 which hiked its economy by 14% in 2013. Therefore, it seems obvious to say that the Olympics play pivotal role in the current century owing to its financial benefits.

Furthermore, the Olympics seem to be a motivational factor for the people associated with sports. This means to say that the medals and the monetary amount won by players make them and their country proud which further encourages more people to engage in different sports. The best illustration of this is that 20% youngsters in Canada have engaged themselves in acquiring skills to play hockey, Kabbadi, Baseball after winning the gold medal in the Olympic conducted in 2019. Thus, this encouragement will continue in future as well.

To conclude, while some people think that this sport event does not play vital role in 21st century, I disagree with this view and think that these games are continue to play paramount importance for both country and sportspersons in the current century.