Some people say that the only way to learn a second language well is to live in a country where that language is spoken. What is your opinion about this?

It is believed by some people that to learn a second language proficiently one needs to live in a country where that language is spoken widely. In my opinion, it is imperative to learn a second language to live comfortably in another country/region. This essay will discuss further in the following paragraphs about the importance of learning a second language that is spoken in another country.

Firstly, there are several financial and social benefits of learning a native language of the country where one lives. If people choose to learn the local language well, it becomes easier to find well-paying jobs and get integrated into the society. For instance, when immigrants communicate in Arabic language in the Middle East, they may find it easier to find government jobs more easily than a person who can’t speak in Arabic. Furthermore, it becomes easier to socialize with the locals and live in harmony with Arabs. Therefore, learning a native language is important to live in another country.

Secondly, the ability to speak a second language that is native to the country where a person chooses to live can migrants to benefit from some facilities such as educational facilities. If individuals can learn that language, it can be a ticket to study in the regional university of that country. For instance, international students need to know German language well to study in the universities in Germany as the medium of instruction is in German. This can further provide a great understanding of that society. If people do not learn the regional language of the state they live, they would tend to like a stranger in that society. Thus, learning the native language in a particular country is a necessity.

In conclusion, learning the native language of a country is a difficult process and consumes time. In my opinion, learning a second language that is native to the place of residence is necessary to procure good jobs and social benefits for most expats. If educational institutes provide for budgets to discounted language learning classes, settlement process for new immigrants can be eased.