Children’s friends are an important part of their lives. What kinds of influence may children’s friends have on them? What is the best way for parents to make sure that their children’s friends are a good influence on them?

Friends help in a child’s emotional development. They are pivotal to growing years for sharing problems, in good or bad times and to share moments in life. This essay will discuss further about the kinds of influence friends have on children and some techniques parents can use to ensure that the influence is positive.

Friendships is undeniably a large influencing part in the cycle of life for emotional and social well-being. It defines who we are at every stage from infancy to old age. For example, recent studies have shown that children who played frequently with active friends were less likely to be inactive physically. However, it is not always easy for kids to navigate in the world of friendship, they can make some bad choices and may start smoking or taking drugs due to peer pressure.

Parents want to always protect their children and raise them to be kind, decent productive human beings. Open discussions and watching for red flags in a child’s behaviour are great practices that parents should adopt from early years. For instance, paying close attention to the behaviour of a child (positive or negative) and noting for changes when the make new friends is critical. In addition, parents can also check on the friend’s act when they visit or interact with them for clues to ensure their children are with the right kind of friends.

In conclusion, children need to have their social circle for their welfare but managing and monitoring the social path of a child’s life is important. Parents can achieve this by constantly inspecting and controlling the social circle of their child. In addition, keeping the communication line open is the key to successful parenting through all stages of a child’s life.