Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Children possess a great capability to learn new skills in their teenage. Parents play a paramount role in inculcating virtues in them. Some people feel that parents should encourage their children to participate in group activities, however there are others who oppose this dogma and support the thought of children engaging themselves on their own. The merits of both arguments will be analyzed before a conclusion is decided upon.

Group learning and sports events help children to learn important social and behavioral skills that are essential for every human to sustain life. Moreover, motivating children to participate in group activities prevent them from falling prey to wrong lifestyles. For example, organizing football match in the evening for the students not only helps to keep them physically fit, but also aids in holistic personality development. Students are under the supervision of either parents or tutor, thus organized activities are best way to engage children in some fruitful exercise.

However, some people have strong reasons to oppose the group activities and have the notion that children can learn maximum by their own. They believe that self growth is going to help kids in long run as they would have capability to take decisions on their own. For instance, giving some money to a kid to allow him to purchase something useful will definitely make him to brainstorm, in order to find a useful item, without seeking anybody’s help. Thus, it is felt that children may be allowed to decide freely on the things to keep themselves busy in their leisure time.

After looking at these two opposing points of view, it is felt that organized group activities better serve the purpose of imbibing good behavioral and social traits in children, whereas letting the children grow alone might make the children self-centred and materialistic. Thus, it is hoped that more supervised cooperative activities be organized for the teenagers in the future.