Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Learning to spend leisure time constructively plays a very important role in a child's life. Children can do this by doing activities with other people like friends and family members, or by spending time in their own company. In my opinion, both these approaches are equally effective, and complement each other as to provide a very efficient use of available time. This essay discusses these methods in detail in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, spending free hours in doing group activities could be very beneficial for young people as it helps them develop their social skills alongwith the ability to learn from others. If children spend time in group activities, they not only learn to fit in with each other but also begin to appreciate others' qualities and accept the differences of opinion. According to a survey conducted in 2016 by National Survey Forum on 250 children of age group 5 -10, 89 % youngsters who do group activities are very receptive in social scenarios.

On the other hand, young people who learn to spend time with themselves at a young age can explore them and enhance their creativity. By spending time alone, children get a chance to connect with themselves, thereby increasing their awareness and appreciation for self. This makes them more peaceful, and capable of enjoying the benefits of solitude later on when they develop the habit of self reflection. Additionally, me time also allows them to experiment on their creative instincts by indulging in hobbies like painting, cooking and reading, thereby making them self reliant as well as skillful. As per an article 'Children and Solitude' published by the renowned psychologist Sigmund Freud in 1920 in Elsevier, teenagers who spend time with themselves are thrice more creative in contrast to those who do not get time with self.

In conclusion, I opine that both, doing activities in organised groups, and spending leisure time with self, contribute to a person's growth and personality development in a big way. To get the most benefit, a combination of both of these should be used for the holistic growth of children, and to make them better equipped for their future.