Some people say success is '10 percent talent and 90 percent hard work'.Is hard work the key to success, or is talent also important?

There are different beliefs concerning what separates being good from being great. In my opinion what makes the difference in any area of life is continues ethical hard work, that is why the phrase '10 percent talent and 90 percent hard work' is so true even though it looks strange when said in this way.

We have all witness amazing talents from different fields of sports and business, from all, the most important to be mentioned are names from football like Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, from basketball Michael Jordan, from business Elon Musk and even art Picasso. They are all well known to be great achievers in their areas and are considered great talents from people as they have something different from anyone else. But what makes a talent be considered as such? Researchers say that they have uncommon abilities from eye vision, to fast thinking, and even innate intelligence which differentiate further this individuals. For example Messi can dribble while going in high speed and has a technique beyond any imagination. Ronaldo can score from long distance due to his physicality and so on.

Lets analyse further this cases by saying that what would anyone of them achieve if they only stood faithful to the idea that their talent is all they need to succeed in life. I can say with complete conviction that they would have been good players but they would not have been the great players that are considered to be today without hard training and continuous work ethic mindset. When Picasso was approached by a women in a bar after he was sketching, she asked him to give her the drawing as a gift for her. Instead he responded by saying that with that drawing he could buy all the bar. She remained shocked by saying that he only took few minutes to finish it. He than replayed by saying that he had practiced all his life for that minute.

To conclude having a talent is a gift, but how you nourish it from good to great depends totally on work ethic and mindset.