Some people say that television is a very useful tool when it comes to education. Others argue that television is a much overused, ineffective teacher.

Discuss both of these views and give your opinion as to the usefulness of television as an educational tool

The extensive application of television for academic purposes has long been debated all over the world. While there are people who argue in favor of the merits, some firmly believe that it has been hackneyed and not feasible for educational purposes. However, we will discuss both views here.

The proponents in favor of television as an effective tool point out to the fact that an immense number of programs are being telecasted to aid pupils in their studies and career decision. In many countries, contents are deliberately being designed for learning purposes. For instance, a handful of channels in India, relay live programs for students to decide on their further education, where an expert would be available to answer their queries. Furthermore, science channels contribute profoundly in enhancing children's knowledge as they showcase facts and scientific innovations in a interesting way.

Conversely, the argument being put forth by the opponents is that the business need for channels is to captivate masses' attention and gain huge profits. Therefore, their focus cannot be primarily on students. As a result, more shows in the peak hours are non-academic, whereas educational programs are being aired during after hours. It is also being said that the potency of those shows are certainly not quantifiable. For example, one cannot test the amount of information gained by a student after watching a science show, whereas, knowledge gained from books could be easily evaluated by conducting exams. For this reason, television proves to be unsuccessful in aiding learning.

On recapitulating all the points, although it appears that TV has some appreciable number of shows to support learning, there is no viable way to quantify its outcomes. Also, the merits of traditional learning methods like books, lectures and other methods outweigh those of television. Hence, TV proves to be an inefficient tool for learning.