Some people that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is frequent discussions about whether people convicted of crime should be measured by a single yardstick and given equal sentence or justice should be served based on the nature of the crime. This essay will shed light on both sides of the argument and maintain that punishments should depend on the offender's motives and situation.

One the one side, it is argued that an offence as long as it breaks a law, is a crime and is liable for punitive action - no more and no less than a predetermined sentence - irrespective of the nature of the crime. this clearly suggests that people are often skeptical about the vulnerability of the trial system and they do not want anybody to become victim of a poor judiciary system. Needless to say, there are some instances when innocent people are incriminated and proven guilty deliberately or by error of judgement. In order to avoid partiality and bias in the court procedures, such a provision makes sense.

However, equal sentence means people will be encouraged to commit more serious crimes. it is because a certain law and order prevails in the society only because people fear breaking laws and the consequences that are associated with it. if people don't get chastened by a harsh punishment, committing serious offences will be a commonplace. In addition, there is also a question on ethical consideration if people who commit crime unintentionally and people who commit murders get equal punishment for their wrong doing. Obviously, juvenile delinquency and incidences of rapes and genocides differ in intention and seriousness. What's more, there are some circumstances where taking an offensive action become inevitable and the judge should exercise his discretion to consider the extenuating circumstances when giving the verdict.

In conclusion, although there could be some rare cases of lapses in the court of law on account of human errors in judgement while ruling a sentence, there is a strong reason for the judicial system to have punishments ranging from fines to life sentence based on the nature of crime. I believe such an arrangement deters criminals from reoffending and committing crimes of serious nature.