Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that communities can reap benefits of the young brigade who can contribute their unutilized time without being compensated. This in turn will be beneficial for each teenager in their overall development. This essay agrees that this would be a win-win situation for both.

Firstly, teens still are catching up to take a full understanding about the community they live, can get a real time exposure of unique structures of society. When these youngsters will work with their hands and mind involved, such experience cab teach them value of time and money. It will indeed lead them to be self-confident equipped with real work experience they can better relate to many subjects in their studies. To share an instance, it was observed that results of biology subject improved over 53% as compared to last year after students of same class worked on soil conservation practices in local government department.

Secondly, society as a whole can create better future leaders, young minds involved in any kind of community work are inquisitive and perform with keen interest. Working in groups enhances their social bonds and impacts their problem solving ability which eases the task of reaching to consensus and solving any societal emergencies. Parents, become more accountable in franchising their rights and it leads to a healthy community in which relationships are based on trust and respect. To share an instance, after teenagers started helping elders in old age homes, happiness index of New Zealand surged to a new record ranking.

To conclude, it’s a win-win situation for budding teens as well as communities as they utilize the hours in having their skills and fastening better relations in society. This will set a tone for coming generations to align their priorities with nation’s realities.