Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

Spending adolescent days on a positive path is vital for society as well as for individuals. It is thought by some experts that youngsters should volunteer their leisure time for social work. I partly concur with this thought process.

To embark on, there are numerous people out there who need various kinds of help from the government or society. Teenagers can spend part of their free time to help these needy citizens, which will be helpful for them to understand the hardships of the overall society, and it will give a new perspective to their life as well. Additionally, if teenagers focus their energy in a constructive path then they will not end up with any bad habits such as alcohol, cigarettes and so on. As the saying goes “An idle brain is the devil’s workshop”. So, it is good to occupy the children’s mind in a positive path.

On the other hand, Teenagers should be allowed to have a bit of fun in their spare time. It is not fair to ask them to spend all of their time only on studies and community work. They need to enjoy some of their leisure in fun activities. Furthermore, they will have to handle more responsibilities once they are entire into adulthood. Parents should give adequate freedom to teenagers, which will help them to avoid unbearable physical and mental stress. For instance, youngsters should be allowed to go to movies, parties, and short trips with their friends. So that they will not feel the pressure all the time and will be happy to contribute to society as well.

To sum up, it is good to involve the younger generation in social work in their free time but one should not spend all of their free time in community activities. They should be enjoying part of their spare time with fun activities which they love.