Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of timeDiscuss both sides and give your opinion

In this day and age, few people are in the opinion that school should also focus on other activities like art, sports apart from academic subjects. However, a recent study shows that about 60% of the parents want their children to excel only in academic rather than extracurricular tasks. Hence, most people think that art is a waste of time. We can discuss both sides of the argument in the below essay.

Firstly, spending an hour on the subject of art will not be beneficial especially when they are preparing themselves for public exams. It may also distract them from focusing on their academic subjects. Moreover, art subject may not be useful to them in their future. For example, only 2 students out of 100 prefer arts subject and for rest of 98% students find it as a mere time consumer that retards the academic growth. Since Art is a vast subject, people may not be interested in a particular art and they want to learn some other form of art.

On the other hand, sometimes student find the academics boring if they ought to study only academics for a full-time. Not only that, when they go to an exhibition or a theatre, they are not able to correlate since they are the novice to the subject of art. Hence, it is essential to include art subject such as painting, dancing, singing, drama classes etc. along with academic lessons and it will precursor them to appreciate the art. If they are only concentrating on the academic syllabus, chances are there that they become bookworms and never admire any form of arts.

To elucidate, schools must be encouraged to have a balanced set of subjects for children including academics, sports, and arts. In my opinion, students should at least know the basics of arts and should not be a novice to the subject of art. It is my hope that we have more artists in the future ahead.