Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others however, say that cooperation and team working skill are more important.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.?

v

There is a controversial debate over what should be taught at schools. While some believe that children should learn how to compete, other think it is better to teach them how to collaborate. This essay will investigate both sides in depth and support why I support both of them

Firstly, competition seems to be the essence of our modern new world. Our lives as an adult is full of micro and macro rivalry. Since the education system should prepare youths for adulthood, how to compete should definitely take place in the curriculum or syllabus. For example a newly graduate who seeks an entry level job might attend probation period or internship with many other candidates so it seems to be critical to have this skill, unless it would be difficult to get a job due ti intense labor market. Secondly, winning in any competition, would lead to a higher self-confidence which is critical not only for our public life, but also for our family life.

On the Other hand, more targets are being hit by teams rather than individuals. Human being as social habitat needs to conduct relations with others. This is true not only for these days, but also our ancestors needed to work together in order to survive. This is how we have evolved and it is a critical tendency of ours to build network and develop teams. Almost all aspects of life needs a level of group working for success. For example, had it not been for cooperation of members, no basketball team could win a single match. Additionally, in business area also these are the teams who win or fail. For example, if a company fail to keep on race track, all employees will lose their jobs no matter how hard work they are.

In conclusion, I strongly support that both idea should be taught simultaneously because both competitive and collaborative mentality and skills are need in daily life. Educational experts need Pedagogical methods to develop both at the same level at the same time.