Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think it encourages crime. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the advancement in science and technology has aided in the decline of crime rate while others argue that this has only made criminals smarter and has only helped them. I believe that though technology has helped both sides of the scale, it is playing a vital role in improving the security of the masses.

To begin with, terms like cybercrime, data loss or phishing are all modern-day crimes where an act is committed without physical presence and mostly leaving the victim oblivion to the crime. The technological advancement has made it possible to loot a person from another part of the continent by only moving a mouse. Consequently, this has left people prone to losing their hard-earned money and privacy on the click of a link.

On the other side, the advancement in technology has also helped people to feel safe. Sitting thousands of miles away, a person can see his dear ones from his mobile that works in sync with the security cameras. In addition to this, the constant connectivity from mobile has also helped people to always stay connected with their family and avoid any unwanted situation as help is always a call away. Apart from people, advancement has also helped enforcement agencies to deal with crimes better through online monitoring and surveillance.

Therefore, though the crimes have gone hi-tech these days so has the government and communities. The people are relying more on technology to increase their safety. For Instance, today a greater number of shop owners and RWAs are installing security cameras to keep themselves safe. In some cases of extreme importance, the governments use the advance techs like Drone to keep a close eye on the suspects. The 24x7 vigilance has helped law enforcement agencies to maintain a tight noose around criminals.

To conclude, though the advancement of technology has introduced us to the new age crimes it has also provided much sharper teeth to the agencies responsible for law and order. It has aided in monitoring public and private spaces without the need for physical presence.