Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discus both views and give your own opinion.

Students must reach a certain level required by any Schooling System to pass to either the next lecture or another quarter, semester, or year.

The schooling level can vary by country, but normally is based on international scores that allow each student to be in the right class and year.

Exams continue to be a fundamental part of student’s assessments which encourage students to show their learning ability and level. In most of the cases exams support examiners to evaluate students and support them with an extra effort if needed. In most of the cases students aim to reach the level required in their exams and they get prepared for them on a regular basis. For instance, some students require high scores to be accepted in University and some others need them to join a special sport team or job. Therefore, it's valid to say that exams contribute to assessing students to reach required scores.

On the other hand, there is another sector of the population that believes that exams are not always the best way of assessing students. People believe that exams do not show students the real ability of their knowledge. Sometimes they get pressure on getting required scores and miss the essential part of each assessment. For instance, a student having four lectures in one quarter and all lecture’s exams are scheduled in the same week. People believe that students can be affected and get stressed by this situation and degrade their score just for having exams. So, exams do not show student’s level properly.

Both sides of this discussion can be right, and each situation needs to be analyzed case by case. I support the idea that students need to be evaluated and get scores by doing exams. This will continue to support all Educational systems and support students to get the right level of education and support. Therefore it is strongly recommended that schools continue practicing exams but support students in eliminating unnecessary stress.