Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.To what extent do you agree with this view?

Art is the heritage of any nation. Making investments to promote different art forms not only preserves the rich heritage and culture of any country, but also helps to boost the economy in an indirect way. While some people consider spending on arts a wasteful expenditure, I personally believe that art ought to be promoted and government should allocate monetary resources to support artists.

The government should help support the artists to excel in their respective fields by designing various welfare schemes for them. This, in turn, will help boost the economy. For instance, let us take the example of art galleries. Encouraging artists to help create their masterpieces, which in turn will become the pride of these galleries, will attract tourists from all over the world, which shall ultimately boost the local economy from the revenue generated by tourism. Let us take the example of caves of Ajanta and Elora, The Taj Mahal, The Qutub Minar and the India Gate, which are a part of rich cultural heritage of India and these sights attract onlookers from all parts of the world.

Additionally, the artists, when become famous, bring laurels to the country. They become pride of the nation and are recognized all over the world for their excellence in their respective fields. This creates a positive impact about the country on the world platform and these artists become role model for the people from different walks of life. For example, Amitabh Bachchan is well known for his acting skills, Lata Mangeshkar is famous for her singing and M F Hussain was famous for his paintings all over the world. These people not only helped promote the art but also acted as Brand Ambassadors for the country.

To conclude, it is reiterated that although some people believe that the government should spend money on some other resources; I personally believe that artists should be motivated and government should provide them required funding for their development and survival.