Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Large multinational conglomerates spend a huge amount of money to promote their products and services, which attracts customers towards purchasing their merchandise and services. This trend may cause a number of problems such as winding up of local industries, offering of substandard quality of products by these companies and fading away of cultural divide. In order to reverse this trend, people should be motivated to buy local products and local companies must be encouraged to offer quality services and personalized products.

Firstly, this trend of offering extra-ordinary discounts by big business houses affects the local economy adversely. A large number of small scale and tiny industries, which are heavily dependent upon the locals for their survival, cannot compete with these big business houses because of their poor purchasing power and are ultimately forced to closure. Diminishing of these indigenous industries leads to widespread unemployment which causes the unemployed youth to take menial jobs and forces them towards social evils such as drug abuse, robbery etc.

Secondly, companies offering good discounts create a monopolistic environment and make people dependent upon them for their day to day requirements. These companies then exploit this excessive dependence of people on them by offering sub-standard products at handsome profit margins. Due to lack of competition, the customers are left with very limited choices and they are persuaded to buy whatever these companies wish to sell at whatever prices. In other words they never get value for their money.

With a view to reverse this trend, people should be made aware about benefits of purchasing local indigenous products. Government should design suitable policies and start welfare schemes to provide necessary support and uplift micro, small and medium enterprises. These small enterprises should also be pressed upon to offer personalized services and customized products as per needs and requirements of the local people to cater to their demands in a better and effective manner.