Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which type of workers do you think should benefit from early requirement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every working individual takes permanent leave from work and gets paid for the services they have done for their company in their retirement age with a pension. However, some sociologists believe that having a fixed retirement age for everybody irrespective of their occupation is unfair. I completely agree with this argument.

To begin with, people tend to become weak as they grow older. Certainly, different occupations demand different kinds of skills. Perhaps, certain workers need physical strength to perform their duties and therefore, this reduce their age. While other occupations like office work demands less physical energy. Hence, workers whose work demands more physical energy need to be given an early retirement. For instance, workers in coal mine whose work demands strength and stamina which deteriorates as they grow older. On the other side, workers sitting in a library do not need to have much need of physical strength.

In addition, certain workers who have dedicated most of their life working for a same company should be allowed to reap the benefits of retirement at an early age. Moreover, employer should provide them good pension so that, their rest of the life pass out without a struggle. For example, my grand-father started working for a company in India at the age of 20. He was allowed to take early retirement by considering the tenure of his work in the company and he still receives the pension on time as well.

In conclusion, common retirement age for all kinds of workers is unfair. Precisely, the workers whose work demands more core body strength or the one who have served their company for a longer duration should be allowed to take early retirement with pension as well.