Some people think that illegal internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, illegal downloading had become a challenging issue around the world. The effect of this practice has been great in the music industry. People are suggesting that pirating music has a negative effect while others disagree. From my vantage point, I aside with those who believe illegal downloading should be deteriorated. I will delineate both sides of this argument in the subsequent paragraphs.

On one hand, those who believe that illegal downloading has no impact on the music industry have their own justifications. This is because artists can earn their living by shifting into other forms of entertainment. To be more specific, they can simply use their image to appear in advertisements or to promote a significant product as a way to earn their living. In addition, producers and singers can achieve their financial goals through concerts. For example, many artists can have world tours in different locations around the world and earn a large sum of money through this event.

On the other hand, some people opine that downloading music without paying for it can have negative effects on artists and industry. To begin with, composers invest their time and energy into creating a song to hope that in return they would have a financial state. Consequently, if illegal downloading continue they will not be able to survive in this competitive market. What’s more, losing interest is one of the other outcomes of this issue which would discourage artists to go forward. Therefore, the above reasons can be named as why people are concern about free downloading.

To summarise, free downloading won’t affect the music industry because artists can use their fame in order to earn money as well as having events like concerts. However, the spread of unpaid downloading will decrease the interest of artists to pull through. From a practical standpoint, I believe not only illegal downloading is an unlawful act but also damages the industry in a serious way.