Some people think that international car free days are effective way of reducing air pollution Others think there are some other ways Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are split opinions over ways of controlling air pollution. A group of individuals conceive a notion that worldwide car free days are more impactul remedy for improving air quality while others are in opinion that there are many other options available to tackle this issue. Therefore, ahead of my position both the aspects ought to be discussed.

Pondering the light on former view, the foremost argument put forward by proponents is that restricting usage of car on certain days will bring down toxic particles in the air. Majority of cars are still using Fossil Fuel as a feedstock which results into omission of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases which are responsible for deteriorating air. For example, investigation was carried out in global top 5 metro cities & it was found that more than 25% of air pollution is contributed by vehicles, especially by Cars. Besides this, people will opt to commute by public transportation rather than private vehicles. Therefore, this will result into reduction of less fuel consumption & subsequently will lower the harmful gases to environment.

Expounding the later view, there are a plethora of approaches to curb the substandard air quality. To begin with, all the countries should bring stringent norms to reduce the pollution from the factories as well from the power plants. Globally all the countries are in competition for increasing their Gross Domestic Production (GDP) and so rapid Industrialization which is causing more air pollution than car. The other solution, especially developing nations should come together to invest more in renewable source of energy. Growing nations are generating more than 60% of their electricity from Thermal power plant which contributes significantly to the pollution. Therefore, such nations should allocate more funds for power generation through non-conventional source of energy like wind, hydro or solar. To, exemplify my point, India has set the target to generate more than 70% of utility from other than thermal plant by 2030.

To summarize & give my opinion, it is quite clear from above deliberation that car free days will defiantly improve the air quality in short term but stricter guidelines for Industrialization as well investing more in renewable source of energy will reduce the air pollution significant in long term.